Review of Uncharted 4/ FanGirling

Uncharted was so good! Honestly I can’t see how someone wouldn’t like this game. I love the story. I’ve been a fan of the series since the beginning. It was a great way to revive and cap off the series. I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to expectations but I was sorely mistaken.

There are SPOILERS coming…. so stop reading if you don’t want to know….. but in my defense the game has been out for a hot minute sooo if you haven’t played it yet, you should not consider yourself a gamer. Just leave this page. Go on. I’ll wait.

Now that we’ve weeded out the weak.

The name of the game had me guessing the whole time, will it end with Nathans luck finally running out and getting himself killed? Which I legitimately had anxiety about the whole time. I also thought it was pretty creative how they introduced a new character from his past so easily and seamlessly since there had been no mention of him in the previous games.

Nathan and his brother had been trying to track down Avery’s treasure since they were kids. There are a lot of details (Plus a pretty cool twist) that I’m not going to go into. Nathan lives and saves his brother after a a intense sword fight, in a 500 year old pirate ship that was filled with the largest treasure collection in history. Oh yeah and the ship was on fire. I’m going to say that one more time. Nathan had a sword fight,in Avery’s pirate ship that was on fire and filled with the biggest pirate treasure collection in history. My heart is racing just talking about it.

The games ends with a flash forward about 15 years. Nathan, now officially retired, has a daughter. His daughter seems to have the same adventurous spirit as Nathan. To me, this is closing the door on the Nathan Drake Uncharted experiences and leaves just the slightest possibility for a continuation of the series, staring his daughter.

All in all, the game won me over. The stories of Uncharted always have the player so immersed in the game that it is hard to put down the controller. Uncharted 4 may be my favorite installment of the entire series.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10

 

uncharted-1

Leave a Reply

